Kootenay Animal Assistance

PROGRAM SOCIETY

<-BACK

Ruby

Ruby is still available

Private Adoption

Dog

Age: 3

Sex: Female

Breed: Pyrenees/Australian Shepherd Mix

Size: Med-Lrg

Spayed/Neutered: Yes

Listed on: Jun 20 2022

Description:

Hi, my name is Ruby and I am a 3 year old Pyrenees/Australian Shepherd mix looking for a new home. I wasn’t socialized as a pup, and now I am a reactive girl. My mum and dad adopted me when I was 9 months old, and we have made lots of progress on my behaviour with help from our trainer, but I do still struggle with busy areas, strangers and other dogs. Recently they have started to think that I might be happier in an environment where I don’t have to face my triggers all of the time, and can just relax and be with my person. Or maybe with someone who is able to work with me diligently to help overcome my triggers, because I do think that I can still make more progress, if you are willing to work with me.
I am very smart, sweet and cuddly with ‘my people,’ but I am weary of strangers and other dogs. I am not comfortable with new people or dogs entering my space, but I can warm up if given enough time. If I am not sure about you and I think that you are too close, I might give you a nip, and I do have a bite under my belt. I don’t love wearing my muzzle, but will put up with it if there is a little bit of peanut butter inside. I have had little exposure to kids, and would be best suited for someone with no young children.
I love to practice my commands and enjoy doing a job where I am stimulated. I do need my exercise, but I also like being a couch potato. If you have a big fenced yard where I could run around and sniff I would be so happy! Busy areas are too much for me, and right now I need a comfortable distance from my triggers, but I am working on shortening this distance.
I am a good listener at home, but I have a harder time focusing on what mum and dad are saying when I am distracted outside. Because of this, I stay on my leash when out of the house.
I am not destructive, and only chew on my toys and bones. I really love my peanut-butter filled kong and my tricky treat ball. If you make some popcorn I would really like some as well, and will patiently wait at your feet until it’s ready. I am not crate-trained, and prefer to sleep close to my mum and dad, either on the floor or the foot of the bed.
I am in great health, have been spayed, and am up to date on all of my shots.
My mum and dad will bring me around for an introduction if you think that you’d like to meet me. Maybe then we could try a sleepover to see if we're a good fit. Then my trainer could come by to help make me feel comfortable and ease the transition for me. I already have all of my favourite things that I can bring, like my bed, toys, harness and leash, food bowls, treats, car hammock and seatbelt.

Location: Nelson

Contact Name: Sarah & David

Contact Email: hemricksl@gmail.com

Share/Save